Reference and Research Help
Useful Library Resources and Services
UW-Madison Libraries
- Main Library Web Site
http://www.library.wisc.edu/ - Campus Libraries List/Map
http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/ - General Library System Services List
http://www.library.wisc.edu/about/info-services.html
Libraries in the Social Science Building
- Social Science Reference Library
Room 8432 // (608) 262-6195
http://socialsciref.library.wisc.edu/ - Center for Demography and Ecology
Room 4471 // (608) 263-6372
http://www.ssc.wisc.edu/cde/library/info.htm - Data and Information Services Center
Room 3308 // (608) 262-0750
http://www.disc.wisc.edu/
Library Tours and Workshops
- All Library Workshops – Schedule
http://www.library.wisc.edu/workshops/workshop-date.html - All Library Tours – Schedule
http://www.library.wisc.edu/workshops/tours.html - Social Science reference Library Workshops - Schedule
http://socialsciref.library.wisc.edu/about/instruction.html
Library Assistance
- Social Science Reference Library (room 8432)
http://socialsciref.library.wisc.edu/
tdurkin (at) library.wisc.edu - web form
ssrlib (at) library.wisc.edu - web form
(608) 262-6195 // (608) 262-7340
- Memorial Library Reference
Site - http://memorial.library.wisc.edu/services/index.html
Questions - http://memorial.library.wisc.edu/forms/memref.html
(608) 262-3242 - Grants Information Center
Site - http://grants.library.wisc.edu/
Workshops – http://grants.library.wisc.edu/seminars.html
grantsinfo@library.wisc.edu
(608) 262-6431 - Government Documents
Site - http://www.library.wisc.edu/guides/govdocs/index.htm
Questions - http://www.library.wisc.edu/directory/email/Beth-Harper
(608) 262-9852 - Ask a Librarian
http://www.library.wisc.edu/ask/
This service includes various chat/IM messaging possibilities for contacting a librarian. - List of Subject Specialist Librarians
http://www.library.wisc.edu/directory/liaisons - List of Library Services for Faculty
http://www.library.wisc.edu/faculty/ - List of Topic-based Research Guides
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/wisc-subjectguides
Journal Literature Databases - General Access/Information
- E-Resource Gateway
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/metalibfindresources
This is a searchable list of the many literature databases that are available for use to UW-Madison faculty, students, and staff. - Find It
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/findit
Use the "Find It" tool to locate an electronic journal and/or an article if you have the citation. When you see this icon in a database or on a website, you can click it to get to the Find It tool. - E-Journals List
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/ejournals
Browse a list of 8,000+ full-text electronic journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers available to UW-Madison faculty, students and staff. - RSS and Alerts for Journal Article Databases – Helpful Tips
http://www.library.wisc.edu/alerts/
Library databases and publishers offer personal accounts for saved searches, free email alert services, and RSS feeds. These tools allow you to automatically monitor newly published information. - Libraries Scholarly Communication and Publishing Initiative
http://www.library.wisc.edu/scp/
This web site for the UW-Madison community brings together information to illuminate such issues as copyright, the scholarly publishing landscape, and open access initiatives.
Web-Based Social Science Journal Literature Databases
- AnthroSource
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI19222
AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online. - EconLit
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI03352
EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 300 scholarly English language periodicals and books in the field of economics. - Social Sciences Full Text
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI10953
Social Sciences Full Text indexes more than 415 key periodicals in the fields of economics, politics and foreign affairs, public administration, public health, sociology, criminology, environmental and urban studies, psychology and anthropology. - Sociological Abstracts
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI03601
The Sociological Abstracts database indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology. - Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI03657
The Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals. - Other Helpful Databases:
Academic Search - http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI00018
JSTOR - http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI11456
ProQuest Research Library - http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI09610
UW-Madison Libraries Catalog
- MadCat
http://madcat.library.wisc.edu/
This is UW-Madison’s searchable online catalog of books and journals. It will provide call numbers and library locations to help find materials that are owned by the Madison campus, as well as at other UW campuses. - My MadCat Account
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/mymadcataccount
Login to see the items you have checked out, renew items, check library requests, and check library fines and fees. - New Books List
http://madcat.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/newbooks.cgi
“New In MadCat” is a list of books, journals, and titles in all media that have recently been cataloged by campus libraries. The list is updated every Wednesday. - Recommend a Library Purchase
https://www.library.wisc.edu/forms/purchase.html
Use this web-form if you have a book, journal, or other type of resource to recommend for purchase by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. Your suggestions are welcome and will be forwarded to the appropriate library subject specialist for consideration. All requests are subject to the libraries' selection policies.
Article and Book Delivery
- Book Retrieval
http://madcat.library.wisc.edu/vwebv/ui/en_US/htdocs/help/hldrtr.htm
You can request that books listed in MadCat at one library be delivered to another UW-Madison library for pick-up. Materials will be held for you at the campus library of your choice. You can expect delivery within 3 business days. - UW System Borrowing
http://madcat.library.wisc.edu/vwebv/ui/en_US/htdocs/help/ubrequest.htm
You can request that books or media owned by another UW campus (like UW Milwaukee) be delivered to a UW-Madison library for pick up. The item will be delivered to the campus library of your choice within approximately 4 business days. - Open Return
http://www.library.wisc.edu/borrowing/#return
Books on regular loan can be returned at any campus library that is part of the Open Return system. - WorldCat
http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/FindMLNativeByID?repl1=UWI00073
WorldCat is a catalog of more than 49 million books, serials, audiovisual media, maps, archives, manuscripts, scores, and computer files owned by more than 9,000 OCLC member libraries around the world, including UW-Madison and the Library of Congress. One of its many uses is the ability to make online interlibrary loan requests for books. - Interlibrary Loan
Form to Place Requests - http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.web/libraryexpress
About Interlibrary Loan - http://www.library.wisc.edu/delivery/faq.html
Use this service to request books, book chapters, media, and journal articles not owned by this campus. PDF files of articles will be delivered to your email account. If a lending library is located, materials will be delivered within 2-3 weeks. -
Getting Dissertations
http://www.library.wisc.edu/dissertations/search-other.html
There are a number of options for requesting dissertations. Most dissertations that were completed here at UW-Madison are available to check out from Memorial Library. Dissertations from other campuses are frequently very hard to obtain in hard copy (paper) but there are several options for getting a scanned (PDF) copy, sometimes for a fee.
Class Reserves
- Electronic Reserves
http://my.wisc.edu/
If there are e-reserve materials (generally PDFs) available for your classes, they will be viewable via the MyUW portal. Once you log-on, click on the “Academics” tab to see your list of classes. A link to the e-reserves that may be available is included with each class listed. - Hard-copy Reserves
Paper reserves are available at several campus libraries, including the Social Science Reference Library (room 8432), College Library (Helen C. White Building), and several other Library locations. Anthropology, Sociology, and Economics classes commonly keep paper reserves at the Social Science Reference Library or College Library. -
About Reserves Services at the Social Science Reference Library -
http://socialsciref.library.wisc.edu/services/reserves.html - About Reserves Services on Campus - http://www.library.wisc.edu/reserves/
Citation Management and Writing
- RefWorks
Guide: http://www.library.wisc.edu/refworks/
Training: http://www.library.wisc.edu/workshops/workshop-topic.html#refworks
The RefWorks system is a web-based citation management application. It is available without charge to UW-Madison faculty, students and staff. - EndNote Web
Guide: http://www.library.wisc.edu/endnote/endnote-web.html
Training: http://www.library.wisc.edu/workshops/workshop-topic.html#endnote - Zotero
Site: http://www.zotero.org/
Guide: http://www.zotero.org/documentation/quick_start_guide
Training: http://www.library.wisc.edu/workshops/workshop-topic.html#zotero - UW Writing Center
http://www.wisc.edu/writing/
Computing Services
- Laptop Checkout Program - Social Science Reference Library (room 8432)
http://socialsciref.library.wisc.edu/about/
Dual-boot Mac/PC MacBook Laptops and one LCD projector are available for checkout to faculty, students and staff for 3 days at the Circulation Desk. These laptops have Microsoft Office 2007 (Word, Excel, Powerpoint) and other useful applications ready for use. - Social Science Computing Cooperative (Rooms 4218 and 3218)
http://www.ssc.wisc.edu/sscc/ - Steenbock InfoCommons
http://steenbock.library.wisc.edu/infocommons/index.htm - Memorial Library Infolab
http://memlab.doit.wisc.edu/ - College Library Computer and Media Center
http://www.college.library.wisc.edu/technology/infolab/ - LSS InfoLab in Van Hise
http://babel.lss.wisc.edu/facilities/infolab/ - DoIT Computing/Labs List/Laptops Map
InfoLabs: http://www.doit.wisc.edu/computerlabs/
Laptop/Projector Availability Map: http://ecs.library.wisc.edu/