Library Services

Reference and Research Help

Databases Useful for Conducting Anthropological Literature Research

Core Anthropology Databases

AnthroSource

  • Description: AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online.
  • Date Coverage: Late 19th Century-present
  • Full Text: Partial
  • Help: http://www.aaanet.org/help/as.cfm
  • Free or Licensed: Partially free

Anthropological Literature

  • Description: Produced by one of the world's foremost anthropology libraries, Anthropological Literature indexes entries at least two pages long in more than 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Anthropological Literature online includes the complete contents of Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays (published quarterly since 1979).
  • Date Coverage: Late 19th Century - to date (updated quarterly)
  • Full Text: No
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/e-resources-help/quick-guides/firstweb.html
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

Anthropological Index Online

  • Description: Anthropological Index Online contains citations for more than 750 international journals and special interest publications in all areas of anthropology and archaeology. In anthropology, all geographical regions are covered, with particularly strong coverage of Eastern and Central Europe . In archaeology, coverage concentrates on Eastern and Central Europe and the Soviet Union , the Americas , Africa , Asia and the Pacific; Western Europe and Classical antiquity are not covered in great detail. Citations from the 1960s are limited.
  • Date Coverage: Starting in 1957
  • Full Text: No
  • Help: http://aio.anthropology.org.uk/aionew/AIO_help.html
  • Free or Licensed: Free

Abstracts in Anthropology

  • Description: Abstracts in Anthropology is the primary abstracting service for the field of anthropology. The citations in the database come from approximately 200 separate journal titles, and cover all of the branches of anthropology, including: cultural, physical, linguistic, and archaeological anthropology.
  • Date Coverage: 2001 - to date
  • Full Text: None
  • Help: Use database's native help file
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

 

Other Important Databases

Academic Search

  • Description: Academic Search Elite, an EBSCO database, is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200. This resource is licensed by BadgerLink/Department of Public Instruction for use by all Wisconsin residents.
  • Date Coverage: 1984- (updated daily)
  • Full Text: Yes
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/ebscoweb.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

AfricaBib

  • Link: http://www.africabib.org/
  • Description: The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database).
  • Date Coverage: 1974-present
  • Full Text: No
  • Help: None
  • Free or Licensed: Free

America: History and Life

  • Description: America : History and Life indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history, and North American Archaeology. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American historical coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. Books and dissertations are included.
  • Date Coverage: 1964- (updated monthly)
  • Full Text: No
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/abcclioweb.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

Anthropology Review Database

Annual Reviews

  • Description: Each Review synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field.
  • Date Coverage: 1972-current volume
  • Full Text: Yes
  • Help: Link
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed

Electronic Human Relations Area Files (EHRAF) Ethnography and Archaeology

  • Description: The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a full-text database of books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts containing information on 90 selected cultures from around the world and covering all aspects of cultural and social life. This is an updated and enhanced version of a portion of the corresponding HRAF microfiche and CD-ROMS, located in Memorial Library Room 443. The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography does not contain all of the world's national and ethnic cultures and it also does not contain all the cultures that are available in the HRAF microfiche and paper collections (about 370 cultures).
  • The eHRAF Collection of Archaeology provides researchers and students access to the full text of archaeological books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts for comparative studies within and across regions. Annual installments cover eight or more major traditions from around the world, with at least 10,000 pages indexed to the paragraph level. The database uses a modified Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) for quick retrieval of information. Each major tradition typically contains an overview by an expert and descriptive materials on five to seven sites.
  • Date Coverage: Varies
  • Full Text: Yes
  • Help for Ethnography: http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/e/ehrafe/help/help.html
  • Help for Archaeology: http://ets.umdl.umich.edu/e/ehrafa/help/help.html
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)

  • Description: LLBA provides abstracts of articles on linguistics and its sub-disciplines from approximately 2,000 serials published around the world, complemented with coverage of recent books, occasional papers, technical reports, and dissertations.
  • Date Coverage: 1973- (updated quarterly)
  • Full Text: Use "Find It" to link out
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/cambridge.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

National Archaeological Database

PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology

  • Description: The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities.
  • Date Coverage: 1940 - (Updated Twice Monthly)
  • Full Text: Links out to full text
  • Help: http://primatelit.library.wisc.edu/usingsite.html
  • Free or Licensed: Free

ProQuest Research Library

  • Description: ProQuest has several databases covering widely ranging topics and regions. These include scholarly material (the “Research Library” which indexes more than 2000 publications), several newspaper article databases, and a dissertation database.
  • Date Coverage: Various
  • Full Text: Yes
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/proqdir.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

Social Sciences Full Text

  • Description: Social Sciences Full Text indexes more than 415 key periodicals in the fields of economics, politics and foreign affairs, public administration, public health, sociology, criminology, environmental and urban studies, psychology and anthropology. Feature articles are indexed, as are interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book reviews. There are abstracts beginning with 1994. Full-text articles from 112 journals have been added beginning with 1995.
  • Date Coverage: 1983- (updated monthly)
  • Full Text: Many articles
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/wilson.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

Sociological Abstracts

  • Description: The Sociological Abstracts database indexes and abstracts 2,000 worldwide journals in sociology. Relevant dissertations have been added since 1986. Also included is the Social Planning Policy and Development Abstracts (SOPODA) database, which covers applied sociology journal article abstracts since 1980. Formerly called Sociofile.
  • Date Coverage: 1963- (updated triannually)
  • Full Text: Some articles
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/cambridge.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

Web of Knowledge

  • Description: The Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers.
  • Date Coverage: Early 1980s-present
  • Full Text: No
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/wos.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison

 

Important Sources of E-journal/Periodical Content

Anthropology in the News

  • Link: http://anthropology.tamu.edu/news.htm
  • Description: Links to news stories published on the web by major news sources.
  • Date Coverage: Current news
  • Full Text: Yes
  • Help: None
  • Free or Licensed: Free

E-journals list

  • Anthropology E-Journals
  • Archaeology E-Journals
  • Description: A complete alphabetical list of the electronic journals that UW-Madison currently has access to.
  • Date Coverage: Various, depending on specific journal.
  • Full Text: Yes
  • Free or Licensed: In most cases, licensed for UW-Madison

JSTOR

  • Description: JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access more than 400 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, and many more... Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title.
  • Date Coverage: Various
  • Full Text: Yes
  • Help: http://www.library.wisc.edu/Q/jstor.htm
  • Free or Licensed: Licensed for UW-Madison